Show Mobile Navigation
Religion |

Top 7 Chakras

by Ravyn
fact checked by dickensgirl

In many religions and practices, there is a belief that there are many energy centers in the body that are tuned to an aspect of life. The energy centers, charkas, are represented with colors and are believed that the person has the ability to open and close them individually with practice and discipline. This is a subject which most people have heard of but few know the details. In order from lowest to highest, here are the charkas.

1. Root Chakra

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located between the anus and genitalia. It is represented with the color red. The Root Chakra is the energy center that helps you feel at home in situations. It is also what controls your feeling of physically being there. You will have a sufficient trust level for other people. When you feel nervous or fearful this Chakra is under-active or blocked. When it is over active, you will tend to obsess with security and very resistant to change. You may also be materialistic and greedy.

2. Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is located at the sacral bone, or lower back. It is represented by the color Orange. The Sacral Chakra is the energy center in control of feelings and sexuality. Being open does not mean you are over-emotional but that you can express your feelings freely. You will not feel ashamed to let your feelings be known. You are also secure with your sexuality. This doesn’t mean bragging about how much sex you have. When this Chakra is under-active, you tend to bottle up all emotions or tend to have a permanent poker face. Over-emotionally attached to people is characteristic of over-active Sacral Chakra.

3. Navel Chakra

Navel Chakra

The Navel Chakra is located on the spine a little higher than the navel. It is sometimes referred to as the Solar Plexus Chakra. It is represented by the color yellow. The Navel Chakra is associated with asserting yourself and your self-esteem. Under-active Navel Chakra usually has reference to being timid and indecisive. You probably don’t get what you want or have a hard time letting someone know your opinions about the situation. Being over-active, you are probably aggressive and domineering.

4. Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is located at the spine and level with the heart. It is represented by the color green. This Chakra is the energy center for love and affection, your kindness to others, being compassionate and friendly. You live in harmony with your friends and easily make new friends. Being closed or under-active, you will tend to be cold and distant. Others tend to not notice you or you are very rude to them. Being over active, you will tend to smother your relations. You love will usually have a very selfish reason.

5. Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is located at the base of the throat. It is represented with the color blue. This Chakra is the energy center for talking and self-expression. When this Chakra is under-active you are likely to be introverted and shy. You probably don’t talk too much and may have a tendency to lie. Being over-active you can tend to be over bearing with how much you talk and tend not to listen very well.

6. Third-Eye Chakra

Third-Eye Chakra

The Third-Eye Chakra is located between and slightly above your eyebrows. It is represented by the color purple. This is the center for premonition, insight and visualization. When this Chakra is open you will tend to have a normal instinct and will tend to fantasize. You will have good intuition. When it is closed, you are not very good at thinking for yourself. You may tend to rely on others for basic instructions. You may get confused easily and rely too much on beliefs. When it is over-active, you may live in a fantasy world or even have extreme hallucinations.

7. Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra is located about 4 finger widths above your head. The color white or violet represents it. The Chakra is the center for wisdom and being one with the world. When active you may be unprejudiced and aware of you surroundings. Being under-active you are probably a one way thinker and not very aware of spirituality. When this Chakra is over-active you may be ignoring you bodily needs. You are more obsessed with spirituality and may tend to over analyze everything around you.

Source: MindWorks

Contributor: Ravyn

fact checked by dickensgirl